Google Ads (formerly Google AdWords) is the advertising service by Google for businesses wanting to display ads on Google’s network. It places ads both in the search results of Google Search, as well as on non-search websites and mobile apps. However, there might come a time when you no longer need your Google Ads account and hence you need to cancel it. While deleting Google Ads account is not as straightforward as deleting other accounts, you can stop your ads from running and cancel your Google Ads account hassle free. In this article, we are going to walk you through the various steps on how to delete Google Ads account.
Complete Step-by-Step Guide
Method 1: Canceling Google Ads Account
1. Sign in to your Google Ads account.
2. In the upper right-hand corner, click on the tool icon to open the “Settings” page and then navigate to account settings.
3. Under “Account settings,” you’ll find the option “Preferences.” Click on it.
4. There you’ll find an option called “Account Cancellation.” Click on that.
5. Follow the instructions on the next page and confirm that you want to cancel your account.
Method 2: Deleting Google Ads Account
Deleting Google Ads account is not technically possible. Once you have created a Google Ads account, it will always exist in Google’s systems. However, you can stop your ads from running, cancel your Google Ads account and remove it from your linked Google Account.
To do so, follow these steps:
1. Stop all the campaigns running on your Google Ads account.
2. Remove your billing details from the account settings.
3. Contact Google Ads support and request them to unlink the Google Ads account from your Google Account.
How to Contact Customer Support?
If you have trouble deleting or need further assistance, you can contact customer service support in two ways:
– Phone: Click on the “help” icon from your Google Ads account, this will direct you to a menu where you can get a unique phone number to call.
– Email: You can also contact Google Ads Support via email through the “Contact Us” link at the bottom of every page on the Google Ads home page.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Will deleting my Google Ads account affect my Google Account?
No, your Google Account will not be affected by cancelling or unlinking your Google Ads account.
2. Can I retrieve a cancelled Google Ads account?
Yes, you can retrieve a cancelled Google Ads account by signing into that Ads account and following the on-screen instructions.
3. Will I still be billed after cancelling my Google Ads account?
After you cancel your Google Ads account, you’ll receive one final charge for any outstanding fees.
4. Can I reactivate my cancelled Google Ads account?
Yes, you can reactivate your account at any time. Sign in and follow the on-screen instructions.
5. How long does it take for Google to process my account cancellation?
Google typically processes account cancellations immediately.
Deciding to delete your Google Ads account can often be a daunting process, given the complexity and the importance of the advertising service. However, simply following the steps detailed above will ensure that your Google Ads account is effectively cancelled, all your ads stopped from running and your Google Ads account unlinked from your Google Account without any technical glitches or hitches. Do not hesitate to contact Google Ads customer support should you require any further assistance. They are always ready to help you. It is advisable to remember that converting your account doesn’t delete your Google account entirely, only the Ads feature will be removed.